Maryknoll wins first state title since 1978 with 46-33 win over Hanalani


HONOLULU — After 46 years, the Maryknoll Spartans are champions once again.

Maryknoll won its first state title since 1978 Friday night when the Spartans defeated Hanalani, 46-33, in the Heide & Cook Division II Girls Basketball Championships at the Neal S. Blaisdell Arena.

The Spartans won their 15th straight game to end the season with a 24-3 record as they claimed their third overall state crown.

Senior guard Isabella Arrisgado led the way with 13 points with three made 3-pointers. Rebekah Lum See and Madison Guillermo each scored eight points and Hailey Perez and Khansas Tuisamatatele both added six points apiece to round out the top scorers for Maryknoll.

The Spartans got off to a quick 7-0 lead, but sloppy basketball and bad defense saw the Royals (12-4) take a 22-21 lead at the half.

That’s when Maryknoll flipped the switch to another level.

The victors put the clamps in the second half and outscored Hanalani, 25 to 11, after the intermission to pull away for the win.

Tamlyn Celestino led the Royals in the loss with 12 points.